R16- Korea Final 2014

10509646_10100966984587353_5782119399442778093_n

10437010_10100966984622283_4566298936916589664_nSaturday the 14th of June, I got to go to R16 Korea, A b-boy contest picking out who the best to compete representing Korea in the World R16 match later in July. I actually went with 2 friends instead of grabbing a spot with K-Supporters. We met at Uijeongbu, about an hour 20 mins from Sinchon. It was a very long ride. We met at about 1p.m. Even though ticket handout wasn’t until 3p.m. We met by exit 2-3 to head to Uijeongbu Arts Center (위정부 예술의전당).

The walk there is pretty easy it takes about 15-20 mins depending on how fast you walk. You come out of exit 2 and just walk straight. You will pass about 5-6 blocks. Until you come to a T junction. At this point just cross the street and turn left. Walk about 4-5 mins and you will see the art center on your right.

When we first got there it was a bit dead. I thought to myself ‘oh maybe we came too early.’ But we went inside and got into the already small line that was formed for the tickets. I am an extremely patient and well prepared person so I brought Uno and card that we played while waiting for the event to start. After about 30 mins the line started really getting long. I was thankful we decided to come earlier instead of wait.  Also playing cards made the time really fly by. Before we knew it the time was 3p.m. and they opened the ticket booth.

When we got to the front the lady at the counter actually took the tickets back from us and gave us 3 new ones. We wondered what was wrong. When we checked where the seats were we realized she gave us VIP seats!! I LOVE KOREA!

10453329_10100966984517493_8841106298487359906_nHowever waiting so long for tickets me and my friends actually ended up being insanely hungry and thirsty. So we headed back towards the station and went to Shinsaega Department store which was on seriously right beside the metro station. We grabbed some snacks on the main floor first. I got triangle kimbap and some mandu. We were looking for somewhere to eat when we noticed. We missed the whole cafeteria that was downstairs. So we all tucked our snacks into our bags and headed down to the café to pick up some real food.

We all end up getting the exact same noodle dish. But I liked it because they hand you a plate and you decided how much of what vegetables you want. I love mushrooms so I put a whole bunch of those. It was really good but I’m dumb and don’t know how to eat and got it on me.. So I got to visit the bathroom and wash my shirt in the sink.. Such is my life.

We headed back to the Art center. I actually saw a few more people I knew and said hi. Even ran into a friend I haven’t seen in 2 years. He actually didn’t get a ticket and was looking for anyone who had extra. I told him sorry, but we didn’t have extra tickets and he should have came early (He arrived there at about 4:40).

We went into the performance hall and found our seats. AMAZING SEATS if I haven’t said this. We are dead center about 5 rows back from the stage. I think we even got better seats then the K-Supporters. I was so happy and excited. Then all excitement drained when I realized Morning of owl wasn’t going to be in the contest!!! NOOOO POCKET!! 

10450527_10100966984662203_563020086582315223_nWell the show started and I was already in a depressed mood but it did go really well. First two events are probably not my favorite the popping & locking. I like Locking more because my mom use to listen to all the music and I was defiantly singing along to Car Wash! “working at the car wash yeeaah”.

But I was most excited for the B-boy battles. I have to admit some of them were entertaining but nothing can compare to morning of owl.

Before I announce the winners of the night though I have to tell you about this really awkward dance routine that happened that had me thinking maybe they had to check that everyone was 19 or older. It was this girl group that I have to say put the ‘What just happen’ moment into perspective. I mean they are great because you can see how hard they worked and trained and how athletic and agile they are! But on the other hand it was like SEXY TIME dance routine, with air humping and butt jiggling. After they were finished me and my friends just looked at each other and though.. What just happened??

Anyways back to the winners: Poppin’ DS won for Best Popper. Locking Kahn won for best Locker. And best b-boy group was Gamblerz Crew. In all I agreed with the b-b-boy group. And the final two were actually the two groups I picked for being the most potential.

Side note: let me give you some tips. BRING SNACKS, this event last forever and you really are about ready to eat your hand off and one point if you don’t. Bring a sweater or jacket s can get a little cold in the theater. Make sure you bring your ticket stub out with you if you are going to the bathroom. Make sure you check that you won’t miss your train because the performance ended about 20 mins before last train!

In all it wasn’t a bad performance but I think for see another country taking the top title for the World Wide R-16.

10455162_10100966984312903_2244891579850284494_n

Leave a comment

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑